All Gas and Gaiters Podcast

All Gas and Gaiters, predominantly farcical in nature, was set in the close of the fictional St Ogg's Cathedral and concerned various intrigues and rivalries among the clergy. The "gaiters" in the title refers to part of the traditional dress of bishops and archdeacons. The bishop was easygoing; his friend the archdeacon was elderly, tippling, and still appreciative of attractive women; and the bishop's chaplain was naïve and accident-prone. Their wish to live a quiet bachelor life was continually threatened by the overbearing dean, who tried to bring by-the-book rule to the cathedral.

Radio episodes

Series One: 1971

"The Bishop Rides Again" (5 January 1971)

"The Bishop Writes a Sermon" (12 January 1971)

"The Bishop Meets a Bird" (19 January 1971)

"The Bishop Turns to Crime" (26 January 1971)

"The Bishop Sees a Ghost" (2 February 1971)

"Only Three Can Play" (9 February 1971)

"The Dean Goes Primitive" (16 February 1971)

"The Bishop Gets a Letter" (23 February 1971)

"The Bishop Gives a Party" (2 March 1971)

"The Bishop Goes to Town" (9 March 1971)

"Give a Dog a Bad Name" (16 March 1971)

"The Bishop Gives a Shove" (23 March 1971)

"The Bishop Pays a Visit" (30 March 1971)

Series Two: 1972

"The Bishop Learns the Facts" (24 July 1972)

"The Bishop Takes a Holiday" (31 July 1972)

"The Bishop Buys a Car" (7 August 1972)

"The Bishop Gets the Sack" (14 August 1972)

"The Bishop Has a Flutter" (21 August 1972)

"The Affair at Cookham Lock" (28 August 1972)

"The Bishop Loves His Neighbour" (4 September 1972)

"The Bishop Beats the System" (11 September 1972)

"The Bishop Entertains" (18 September 1972)

"The Bishop Gains a Reputation" (25 September 1972)

"The Bishop Buys a Mug" (2 October 1972)

"The Bishop Loses his Chaplain" (9 October 1972)

"When In Rome" (16 October 1972)

"The Bishop Is Hospitable" (23 October 1972)

"The Bishop Gives a Present" (30 October 1972)

"The Bishop Takes Up Business" (6 November 1972)

"The Bishop Keeps his Diary" (13 November 1972)

"The Bishop Warms Up" (20 November 1972)

"The Bishop Shows his Loyalty" (27 November 1972)

"The Bishop Has a Rest" (4 December 1972)


The Bishop Shows His Loyalty
Show Details12min 57s
The Bishop Has A Rest
Show Details26min 55s
The Bishop Rides Again (5 January 1971)
Show Details30min 26s
The Bishop Writes a Sermon (12 January 1971)
Show Details29min 24s
The Bishop Meets a Bird (19 January 1971)
Show Details26min 54s
The Bishop Turns to Crime (26 January 1971)
Show Details29min 8s
The Bishop Sees a Ghost (2 February 1971)
Show Details30min 1s
Only Three Can Play (9 February 1971)
Show Details28min 35s
The Dean Goes Primitive (16 February 1971)
Show Details29min 26s
The Bishop Gets a Letter (23 February 1971)
Show Details28min 58s
The Bishop Gives a Party (2 March 1971)
Show Details30min 17s
The Bishop Gives a Party (2 March 1971)
Show Details29min 48s
Give a Dog a Bad Name (16 March 1971)
Show Details26min 56s
The Bishop Gives a Shove (23 March 1971)
Show Details30min 18s
The Bishop Pays a Visit (30 March 1971)
Show Details29min 44s
When In Rome (28 May 1972)
Show Details26min 55s
The Bishop Learns the Facts (24 July 1972)
Show Details26min 55s
The Bishop Takes a Holiday (31 July 1972)
Show Details26min 57s
The Bishop Buys a Car (7 August 1972)
Show Details28min 33s
The Bishop Gets the Sack (14 August 1972)
Show Details28min 53s
The Bishop Has a Flutter (21 August 1972)
Show Details28min 13s
The Affair at Cookham Lock (28 August 1972)
Show Details28min 48s
The Bishop Loves His Neighbour (4 September 1972)
Show Details29min 2s
The Bishop Beats the System (11 September 1972)
Show Details29min 43s
The Bishop Entertains (18 September 1972)
Show Details28min 43s
The Bishop Gains a Reputation (25 September 1972)
Show Details26min 54s
The Bishop Buys a Mug (2 October 1972)
Show Details29min 55s
The Bishop Loses his Chaplain (9 October 1972)
Show Details29min 26s
The Bishop Is Hospitable (23 October 1972)
Show Details29min 40s
The Bishop Gives a Present (30 October 1972)
Show Details29min 54s
The Bishop Takes Up Business (6 November 1972)
Show Details29min 56s
The Bishop Keeps his Diary (13 November 1972)
Show Details29min 4s
The Bishop Warms Up (20 November 1972)
Show Details29min 32s
The Bishop Shows his Loyalty (27 November 1972)
Show Details12min 57s
The Bishop Has a Rest (4 December 1972)
Show Details26min 55s